Managing a Resource in Google Calendar

Click to display/hide contents

Overview of Managing a Resource

First, the question is: what is a resource? Answer: The two most common types of resources are: a room or piece of equipment.

Resources, specifically rooms, should be created at the enterprise level so support can be had in case of issues.

One can only MANAGE a resource where one has the highest permission/access level for the resource: make changes and manage sharing. One will know if one has this access level if the resource falls under the My Calendar section when viewing one’s calendar. In the below example Test-Pilot Room 101 is the resource name:

png_base64f78019af0be4f4b

If one does not have the permission level to manage a resource, there is no way to search or find who may manage a resource(s) in one’s area. One will have to ask around one’s department to find the person(s) who has this permission level to request this access, if needed.

Note: best practice for managing a resource is to not have too many people who have this access level (think - too many cooks in the kitchen). A good practice is 2-3 people with this permission level.

Settings for managing a resource

To go to the settings for a resource, hover over the resource name to get the drop-down option:testpilotroom Click the arrow to get a list of options and choose Share this Calendar

png_base647f98b0cfd572d9b5

One will see the Share this Calendar Settings as shown below (calendar url obscured):

png_base649ab6ed3c45dacdfe

There are 2 major sections to Sharing a Calendar as shown below: (1) Enterprise Settings (Share this calendar with others); (2) Share with Specific People

png_base64f28ee3ed5a6342ec

Share this Calendar with Others

By default, all resources are set to the above settings for the Enterprise. Share this calendar with others is checked and Share this calendar with everyone in the organization University of Notre Dame is checked. The default resource permission is See all event details.

This default setting allows anyone at the University to view the details of any event in this resource. This includes: see the event title, a list of invitees, and the description. This setting also allows anyone to find this resource when scheduling an event (under the Rooms, etc. tab in the Event Details screen).

There are a few things to note on this default setting:

  • If people want an event to be private, one should schedule the event and click the private button in the Event Details screen
  • This is the same setting as we had when using Exchange
  • We expect that people will only schedule events for rooms that the person should schedule (i.e. rooms in their department)

A person(s) who manages a resource can adjust the settings for this resource at the enterprise level. This means these changes affect how everyone at the University can see and interact with this resource. Please use caution.

There are 2 options for changing the enterprise settings for a resource.

Change Option 1: Make room - See only free/busy (hide details)

Click the drop-down and change from the default of See all event details to See only free/busy (hide details). Be sure to click Save.

What this change does: this resource is no longer available for anyone at the University to schedule. To enable access for people in one’s department to schedule this resource, one will need to work with the Share with Specific People section for this resource.

People at the university will still be able to view this resource, but all events will show as busy with the person having no access to see the title, invitees, or description.

One final note: this change is not retroactive. It only pertains to meetings scheduled now and in the future should one make this setting adjustment.

Change Option 2: Make room Private

To make the room private, remove the check mark for Share this calendar with others. This will also remove the check mark for Share this calendar with everyone in the organization University of Notre Dame.

What this change does: the resource will not be visible to anyone at the university. To enable access for people in one’s department to view and/or schedule this resource, one will need to work with the Share with Specific People section for this resource.

A strong word of caution for this change: very few rooms falls into the category of needing to be private from the university.

Share with Specific People

Depending on the Enterprise Setting option chosen, see above, this section on Sharing a Calendar will be different. Let’s run through the various use cases.

For the different permission settings and what each grants, see that section below.

Option 1: Enterprise Setting stays as the default - see all event details

The only people one needs to add in this section are people who need more access that the ability to see and schedule the resource.

If one wants to add another person to help manage this resource, enter the person’s name in this field:

png_base64a92613ec435a9e6b

The name entered should auto-fill based on one’s contacts and the directory as one types. Be sure to adjust the settings in the Permissions Settings columns to the right of the name chosen. One would select either of the 2 higher permissions levels than view all event details. Add each person that one wants to grant higher level permissions and change the permissions for each. Be sure to Save your changes.

Option 2: Enterprise setting is changed to See only free/busy (hide details)

The only people one needs to add in this section are people who need more access that the ability to view the resource. Reminder: by changing the enterprise setting to this option, no one, but the person(s) who manages the resource can schedule this resource.

If one wants to add another person to help manage this resource or have the ability to schedule this resource, enter the person’s name in this field:

png_base64a92613ec435a9e6b

The name entered should auto-fill based on one’s contacts and the directory as one types. Be sure to adjust the settings in the Permissions Settings columns to the right of the name chosen. One would select either of the 3 higher permissions levels than see only free/busy. Add each person that one wants to grant higher level permissions and change the permissions for each. Be sure to Save your changes.

Option 3: Enterprise setting is changed to Private

The only people one needs to add in this section are people who need access to see if the resource is busy, schedule the resource, or manage the resource. Reminder: by changing the enterprise setting to this option, no one, but the person(s) who manages the resource can schedule this resource. Also, no one can even view this calendar.

If one wants to add another person to help manage this resource or have the ability to schedule this resource, enter the person’s name in this field:

png_base64a92613ec435a9e6b

The name entered should auto-fill based on one’s contacts and the directory as one types. Be sure to adjust the settings in the Permissions Settings columns to the right of the name chosen. One would select any of the 4 permissions levels to grant access. Add each person that one wants to grant access and change the permissions for each. Be sure to Save your changes.

Permission Levels and what one can do for each level

Resource managers can grant others listed in the Share with Specific People section  how people see events and whether people can also make changes like adding or editing events.

Here is what people can do with each sharing option:

  • Make changes AND manage sharing (Highest Access Level)
    Change sharing settings, add and edit events, and see details for all events, including private ones.

  • Make changes to events
    Add and edit events, and see details for all events, including private ones.

  • See all event details
    Allows one to schedule the resource; also allows one to see details for all events except those marked as private.

  • See free/busy information (no details) (Lowest Access Level)
    See when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but not the names or other details of your events.